Tiger Making Early Comeback?


Yesterday I was listening to 670 The Score (WSCR Chicago), and during one of their updates, the guy mentioned that Tiger Woods might be coming back to golf sooner rather than later.

I did a quick internet search, and all I came up with was this article from an Australian newspaper.  They say Tiger could return in time for the Accenture Match Play Championship which comes up in two weeks.

Tiger might be coming back sooner rather than later.

They also use the word fortnight twice in the article.

Tiger has won the event three times before, and it’s the same place he chose to make his comeback from knee surgery.

Obviously, Tiger has been in hiding since everything went down around Thanksgiving.  I have no idea whether or not he’s even picked up a club since then.  I don’t suppose anyone else does either, because we’ve heard nothing, absolutely nothing from anyone close to Tiger since then.

I’m not going to dissect the possibilities of whether or not Tiger would win if he returns.  The consensus is he wants to play in the Masters, and common sense tells me he would need to get back in the swing of things before the Masters so he doesn’t embarrass himself at Augusta.

What I think is true, though, is that golf needs Tiger.  Lefty is great, but let’s be honest, people love to watch Tiger Woods.  Love him or hate him, the ratings are up when Tiger plays.  I know people who only watch because of Tiger, and I know some people watch because they want to see Tiger fail.

When he’s playing, and playing well, it’s amazing to watch what he can do with the golf ball.  I don’t pretend to be a great golfer, but I love to go out and play.  Knowing how hard it is to hit the damn thing straight, it says a lot about how good he really is at golf.

Really, it shows how good all of these guys are who play on the tour.  Tiger doesn’t win every week.

The fact that no American news outlets have picked up the story makes me a little suspicious of the Australian report.  I’m not saying it’s wrong, I just find it interesting that nobody’s gone with it.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

